Augustana College Augustana Digital Commons

Faculty Senate (1970-2014)

Campus Governance

2-13-2003

Minutes, Febuary 13, 2003

Augustana College

Follow this and additional works at: http://digitalcommons.augustana.edu/facultysenate

Recommended Citation

Augustana College. "Minutes, Febuary 13, 2003" (2003). Faculty Senate (1970-2014). http://digital commons.augustana.edu/facultysenate/70

This Governance is brought to you for free and open access by the Campus Governance at Augustana Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate (1970-2014) by an authorized administrator of Augustana Digital Commons. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@augustana.edu.

Augustana College Rock Island, Illinois

MINUTES Faculty Senate February 13, 2003 – 11:30 a.m. Science Building, Room 102

1. The meeting was called to order by Chuck Hyser, chair, at 11:33. Roll was taken.

Members unable to attend: Thomas Brown, Roger Crossley, Michael Finnemann, Peter Kivisto, Karin Youngberg, Gary Mann, Joe McDowell, Lori Scott, Michael Wolf.

Excused absence: Lendol Calder, Laura Greene.

Upon a motion by Allen Bertsche and seconded by Jim Winship, the minutes of the Jan. 23,
 2003 Senate meeting were amended and approved with the following corrections.

The two corrections noted were as follows:

- a. Page 2, item 4., i., The course description of BI 360 Comparative Physiology/NB is that of a different class-that item will be corrected to read: "A comparative study and broad overview of physiological systems and adaptations among diverse animals from mechanical, morphological and cellular perspectives. One two-hour lab per week. Credit may not be earned in both BI360 and BI 362. Pre-requisites: 200 and 210.
- b. Under members unable to attend, "Jow" should be corrected to "Joe" McDowell.

3. **Advanced Standing and Degrees Report** – Mike Kirn

The List of Candidates for winter term graduation was presented, pending completion of all requirements. The list was presented for approval upon a **motion** from the Committee, **seconded** by Darrin Good and was **approved**.

Jim Winship asked about Honors. Kirn noted that there are candidates eligible for Honors that include the following students:

Summa Cum Laude: Andrew Douglas Brock, Mollie Frances Denman, Rachel Elizabeth Hendee, and Katherine Nicole Toney.

Magna Cum Laude: Erin Laine Fiene, and Natalie Mae Martens.

Cum Laude: Stacey Lee Burgmeier, Erica Lynn Honkala, Tara Anne Larose, and Jennifer Elise Stieve.

4. Hyser suggested an interruption from the normal schedule to introduce our visiting scholars. Jon Clauss introduced Maya Joseph, who is visiting from Christ Church College in Bangalore, India. Dave Crowe introduced Esther Romarate who is visiting from Central Philippine University in Iloilo, Philippines.

5. **Foreign Study Committee Report** – Ellen Hay

Dean Hay reported that over the past several years, the Foreign Study Committee put together a program of information that will be helpful for people interested in foreign terms, particularly for new directors and teachers. The report is available in book format or on disk, and contains examples from the three major foreign terms such as documents on safety, release forms, sample syllabi, evaluation forms, etc. This handbook can be used even for non-academic programs and any faculty member should feel free to request one. Hay reported that Asian term directors were being selected today, and faculty will soon be selected. Focused foreign terms will be selected in late March. Contact Ellen Hay with any questions.

6. There were no **announcements** or **other business**.

7. Adjournment

Dan Lee **moved** to adjourn, **seconded** by the House. The meeting was adjourned at ll:45 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted David Ellis and Sharon Varallo Secretaries